Frenchman wins 2017 Abel Prize for mathematics

French mathematician Yves Meyer, a Professor Emeritus at the École Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay, was today awarded the 2017 Abel Prize by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters for his work on wavelets.

The Abel Prize has been awarded annually since 2003, and is considered by many to be an equivalent to a Nobel Prize, recognizing outstanding lifelong contributions in the field.

Mr. Meyer is the fourth French mathematician to receive the Abel Prize, and is further proof of the quality of French research and mathematical talent in a country that already boasts 13 Field Medal winners, putting France on a par with the United States.

You can find out more about the multitude of talent in France in the following bite-size kit: “France is a talent hub”.

No Comments

Add a Comment

As it will appear on the website

Not displayed

Your website